Tuesday, February 2, 2016

What to read next (my January reads)

One of my goals this year is through 35 books. I think that before I had a kid, that number probably seemed... not lofty. Anyway, I don't need to explain more.

If every month is as successful as January, I'll beat my goal way early - because somehow I managed to read five books in January! And, like, proper-sized ones, too.

1. Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis


While I liked this book, it certainly was weird, and heavy. The premise is that the gods grant fifteen dogs human intelligence in a bet, and from there we follow the lives and deaths of those dogs, and how they live with this new intelligence. Funny at times, devastating at others - this is a good one if you enjoy pondering your existence... or like talking dogs.

2. The Heart Goes Last: A Novel by Margaret Atwood


If you know me, you know that I love Margaret Atwood. Alias Grace is one of my favorite novels, ever. I thought I'd die of impatience waiting for the MaddAddam trilogy to complete. But, I didn't love this one. There are some pretty major plot holes, and I didn't really connect with any of the characters.

3. Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates


This is an excellent book. Thought provoking and challenging, and so beautifully put. It brought me to tears more than once. Everyone should read this book.

4. Undermajordomo Minor: A Novel


I looooooved Patrick DeWitt's previous book The Sisters Brothers. It remains one of the best books that I've read in the past few years. And, I liked this book a lot too, though a lot of the reviewers didn't. It is weird. Very weird. But I really enjoy DeWitt's unusual style, particularly the dialogue.

5. Trans: A Memoir by Juliet Jacques


This a good book to read if you're interested or curious about the struggles faced by trans people, the struggle to find identity, to navigate relationships, public perception, the harassment and abuse, coming out to loved ones, your employer, yourself, and to find your place in the world.

Right, so there were my January reads. Yes, this post is filled with affiliate links, because - why not?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...